Parenting teens in the days of MySpace

September 14, 2006 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

I’ve written before about MySpace and that I allow my teens to have pages on this site, despite my reservations. I do so because I am ever vigilent about watching their pages, questioning anything I think is inappropriate, and deleting friends I don’t want them talking to. I’m extremely careful and I talk about adding new friends and giving out personal information all the time. My kids roll their eyes they’ve heard it so much. But evidentally not quite enough.

Today I was checking my daughter’s page while she was in school. First I went through her inbox to see any new messages. She has several, from some guy I’ve never heard of, and a couple of them are really inappropriate. So I looked at his site and there are 6 pages of women and no men at all in his friends list. Plus, quite a few of the women are scantily clad and a bit too sexy for my taste. They guy identifies himself as 23 years old. I’m really not happy.

I contacted MySpace and reported him as a predator. I contacted the police and reported him as a predator. The police are taking it seriously enough to come over and get the printouts of his mail to the Girl. They’re going to be watching his space carefully. I also sent him a message telling him I was reporting him to both the police and to MySpace and not to contact my daughter any more. She is no longer on his friend’s page, either.

But what upsets me the most is that when the Girl came home and I questioned her about this guy, she told me a friend of hers is in love with him, and that he’s been to our house to pick up said friend. Her friend is 13, too. OMG, I’m so upset it’s beyond pissed and angry. This is bothering me to the core of my being.

I deleted this guy and blocked him from my daughter’s site. But the bad thing is, unknowingly she gave him WAY too much information as to where her friend lives now, and now to get in touch with her. I don’t think she meant to, and she says that he’s a ‘nice guy’, like all predators are. She just doesn’t get the whole predator thing at all, despite watching Dateline shows on this very topic over and over. She thinks that because her friend knows him in real life, he’s OK. Even when I showed her the latest mail from him asking about her sexual preferences. She’s 13. I don’t think she needs to be asked this by anyone, never mind some 23 year old creepy guy on MySpace.

I so want to delete her page, but she is using it appropriately 99.9% of the time. She made a bad error in judgement, one that involved the police and her friend’s parents. Hopefully she’ll learn from her mistakes. If not, the page goes.

Update: About 2 hours later, after I had talked to her about this, this jackass emailed her thru MySpace again. AGAIN. First he responded to my email telling him to leave my kid alone with this ditty:

” I might also add that a bitter old lady should really mind her own business and allow her daughter to become a person, not just a posession that you monitor. ”

Then the Girl writes back, idiot that she is:

” THANK YOU. want to tell her that. but i really am sorry and i like totally cried ova this ”

He responds to her mail:

” HAHA, Im sorry, I know your mom is just looking out for you, but i dont think your profile says ur 13 anyway does it? i thought it said a bit older, but dont worry, im a nice guy, I assume mxxxxx told you some stuff about me so….ya, thatd be good lol. so how was ur day otherwise??? ”

Then she writes back:

“if i were u, i would nt message me, but if u want to talk to me, tell some to message me and tell them to tell me to message u back. i can message u and we can talk that way but u shouldnt message me first. did that make any sence?”

And he responds:

“it would make more sense if you just had an email address lol???”

At which point I catch her in the act and go ballistic. I emailed him this:

“How fricking stupid are you? I told you to leave my child alone. I’ve reported you to the police. YOU STOP HARASSING MY CHILD NOW. NOT ONE MORE WORD. NOTHING. You are a predator and a real sicko. She’s 13. Mxxxxx is also 13. I’ve contacted her Mom, and she isn’t happy. Either you stay far away or I’ll be forced to have the police take immediate action.

DO NOT RESPOND.”

So, I again blocked him from her site (yahoo to MySpace for ignoring me the first time), copied all the emails for the police to pick up tomorrow morning, and banned her from the computer unless I am sitting with her. She told me she felt badly that she just left this jackass hanging. She STILL thinks he is a nice guy.

I called her friend’s parents to let them know, and found that her mother had already reported this guy and called the FBI. And still he goes on.
I haven’t yet pulled down her page, but the computer is now password protected and she cannot get on it without my knowing. Heh.

I fricking HATE THIS.

Entry filed under: Attacks/Exploits/Threats, Computer crime, Identity, Security.

Authenticity Just how public are your private records?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Parents, bring your children Inside |  |  October 13, 2006 at 6:16 am

    […] Parenting teens in the days of MySpace  […]

    Reply
  • 2. Joshua O'Riggor  |  October 19, 2006 at 5:52 am

    Yeah, thats sick shit, but its also alot of your fault for not installing a firewall that disables her ability to view myspace.
    PLUS, take no offence this is the important bit, you may need some help with a professional, on about how you can teach your child how to deal with these situations and many others.
    Its just scary that parents blame others when all they have to do is raise there kids right and nothing will be a drama. Ka’peeshe?

    Reply
  • 3. Roy  |  December 1, 2006 at 12:13 pm

    Anyone else having bother with myspace or is it just my pc?
    Last couple of days it seems it wont let me download any song from anywhere.
    Anyone having same bother – or anyone how to sort it?

    Reply
  • 4. vipsticks  |  February 12, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Hey guys, there’s another English person about, 🙂
    I’m a new on authentrusblog.wordpress.com
    looking forward to speaking to you guys soon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts


