Parents spy on kids online

September 15, 2006 at 9:02 am 1 comment

Worried for the safety of their children among the dark corridors of Internet anonymity, parents are coming up with innovative – some would say sneaky – ways of monitoring their children.

This recent article discusses several techniques parents are using to ensure that their children are not visiting obscene sites or giving away too much personal information.  Methods range from monitoring IM to hiring a sleuth to track down a teenage girl’s My Space account.

Companies are also becoming attuned to the need for software to filter and block potentially harmful content – and creating protective software such as K9 Web Protection.

I have some mixed emotions about this.  I do believe kids need some degree of privacy if they want it, to sort out their feelings and belief systems.  I was a kid who wrote everything down in my ultra private secret snoopers keep OUT diary and it helped me sort out issues I didn’t want to discuss with my parents.  But I also think there is a need for some monitoring because of the potential for danger on the Internet.

As I’ve stated before, I don’t trust any company currently providing social environments (MySpace, FaceBook, LiveJournal, etc.) to make any serious changes to ensure the safety of it’s online users unless there is a tremendous demand for it. If MySpace were deserted because a new, authenticated user social environment came online, then they might make changes. Unfortunately, that means that parents must be ultra-vigilent or not allow their kids online at all.

What do you think? Do you monitor your kids?

Entry filed under: Authentication.

MySpace takes precautions against predators Web Safety for Kids

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sonja Grounder  |  September 27, 2006 at 2:12 pm

    I monitor my kids with k9 and netnanny. They know about this and it keeps them on the safe site of internet. Anyways I don’t control their surfing habits but the settings of the webfilters are very strict. I think it is ok to have parental controls on their computer because internet is tremdous dangerous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts


